RSS Feed

The Potter and the clay

PotterClay

Jeremiah, 18:1 The word that came to Jeremiah from the LORD:
2. “Arise, and go down to the potter’s house, and there I will let you hear my words.”
3. So I went down to the potter’s house, and there he was working at his wheel.
4. And the vessel he was making of clay was spoiled in the potter’s hand, and he reworked it into another vessel, as it seemed good to the potter to do.
5. Then the word of the LORD came to me:
6. “O house of Israel, can I not do with you as this potter has done? declares the LORD. Behold, like the clay in the potter’s hand, so are you in my hand, O house of Israel.

I have trust issues. There are days or moments in a day when I act without remembering that God has a purpose for my life. There are times I try to raise my children in my own strength. I try to make ‘good’ things happen on my job.
Lead astray by my good intentions….. trying to do a God thing my way. Looking for an easy way to do a hard thing not keeping in mind that through the blood of Jesus I belong to God Himself.
I forget some days that I was bought for a price and I don’t own myself anymore. (1Co_6:20) I have a trust issues when I feel the pressure of His loving hands begin to shape me into something far away from what I thought I could be. I’ve seen times when I hear Him call and try to fulfill it in my own power. (Galatians 3:3) No wonder I am so weary. So this day I turn to Him like at the first day he broke into ‘my life’ that had me captive. I return so that I will know that I am in His hands. So that I can be subject to his will that brings times of refreshing and strengthening in Him.
So I pray afresh to be revived and empowered for his good purposes. To be his voice in the middle of struggles. To be his hands while working His work His way. So come the God who restores and causes even those things that are spoiled in his hand to have purpose and beauty again.

Are you hungry to be remade even though you are marred in his hands?

Do you desire to quietly be revived by Him?

Have you lost that first love for God while serving Him?

Let us return to the narrow path carved out by the creator of all things.

Blessings,
Keith

About keithdaphne57

Christian, Husband, Father, Worker for for the state of Utah, Musician. My hope is to position myself so that i am able to give people a hand up. To point to Christ as the only true fulfillment in life. I want to show What Christ is like in tangible ways....through writing.....meeting basic needs in my community.....encouraging unity between different denominations and movements.

Leave a Reply

