RSS Feed

Small bites to Bible Fluency Pt 1

 

At Wednesday night bible we are studying the origins of the bible. The is a small group of us who are giving ourselves to search out this subject. During a meeting one night there were different comments being lobbed back and forth and a dear friend of mine spoke  up and said that she loves the  Lord and the bible. But sometimes in dealing with the history of it all was not as enjoyable as studying ‘the book ‘itself. And true enough going after the facts and dates can be a bit overwhelming.

I’ve found though for me wading through this information slowly has been a great help for me as a Christian. It has helped me with my own personal understanding of where certain aspects of my faith come from. These things also challenge me to ask God Himself the why of it all. Working slowly through the doctrine and history has for me made me less of a ‘sitting duck’ for non-Christians and those who believe in a religion that is less than the Gospel of Jesus Christ. I have prayerful studied and and developed an answer to the question…..Why do I believe?

What I hope to do in the next few post is to present you with a few books that will help you work through some basic teachings about the Christian faith and turn you on to free and low cost resources. My goal is to help the average church member to become more Gospel fluent so that they can share their faith independent of their pastors and lay-leaders. It’s time the church moves beyond ‘my Pastor says’ Christianity and learn how to articulate what we believe because each member has studied it out for themselves.

I think also that if each Christian goes deeper than Sunday school lessons when we do come together it will make for more robust discussions. If our studies are based on what the bible says about any given subject we will be able to calmly and intelligently explain why we believe. We also will be making clear in our own minds the why of it all.

Next post we will deal with Bible translation.

Blessing

 

About keithdaphne57

Christian, Husband, Father, Worker for for the state of Utah, Musician. My hope is to position myself so that i am able to give people a hand up. To point to Christ as the only true fulfillment in life. I want to show What Christ is like in tangible ways....through writing.....meeting basic needs in my community.....encouraging unity between different denominations and movements.

Leave a Reply

